Oxfordshire Care Awards 2024

The annual Oxfordshire Care Awards recognises and celebrates individuals, organisations and companies who have demonstrated excellence within the care sector in Oxfordshire. The Awards bring together unpaid carers, the community/voluntary sector, and statutory and independent care providers.

The awards are hosted by Oxfordshire Association of Care Providers (OACP), Action for Carers Oxfordshire and Age UK Oxfordshire, the awards ceremony will take place on Monday 17th June 2024 at the Voco Hotel, Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford OX4 4GX.

About the Awards

The purpose of the Awards is to recognise and celebrate individuals, organisations, and companies who have demonstrated outstanding excellence within the care sector in Oxfordshire. The organisations involved are Action for Carers Oxfordshire, Age UK Oxfordshire and Oxfordshire Association of Care Providers (OACP). Working together in partnership is at the heart of these exciting Awards. These enhanced Awards are all‐inclusive, bringing together statutory and independent care providers, the community and voluntary sector and unpaid carers. To see updates please check the OACP website.

Nominations are now open!

Do you know someone who deserves to be recognised and celebrated at the Oxfordshire Care Awards 2024? By nominating a friend, unpaid carer, colleague or company you will be supporting their dedication and commitment whilst raising the profile of the adult social care sector across Oxfordshire. This uplifting and joyous event reinforces the work and dedication of all those who make a difference to the ‘real lives’ in their care every day!

Nominations can be made online via the OACP website. Alternatively, you can download and complete this nomination form and write a supporting statement of 100 to 300 words. You can then email the form and statement to awards@oacp.org.uk, or post them to:

Oxfordshire Care Awards 2024,
c/o Age UK Oxfordshire
9 Napier Court,
Barton Lane,
Abingdon OX14 3YT

Shortlisted nominees will be published on the OACP website. Nominators will be advised if their nominee has won an award and invited to attend the ceremony.

Nominations must be received by 5 pm on 26th April 2024. Winners will be announced at the ceremony and will appear on the OACP website.

Categories for 2024

Newcomer to Care Award
Seeks to acknowledge and celebrate a new member of staff who commenced and
remained in employment in the care sector within the previous 12 months and who has
shown empathy, responsiveness and fully understands good practice.

Care Home Worker Award
Recognises the significant role of the Care Home Worker who consistently provides highquality care for people living in residential care.

Unpaid Carer Award
Recognises someone who gives their time, energy and skill to ensure that people have a
better experience of care and support and feel that they matter.

The Volunteer Award
Recognises someone whose commitment to voluntary work has enhanced the wellbeing
of the local community or has made a difference to an individual/s quality of life.

Home Care Worker Award
Recognises the beneficial and important role of the Home Care Worker in consistently
providing high-quality care, for people living in their own homes.

International Recruitment – Best Practice Employer Award
(Sponsored by SESCA, the South East Social Care Alliance)
This award recognises an employer who has demonstrated best practice in International
Recruitment to support their business. To be eligible, a provider must have sponsored
skilled workers since April 2022. These could be individuals who have come to England
specifically to work for them, or ‘in country’ recruits who moved from another employer or
transferred from a different type of visa. Providers may nominate themselves, or be
nominated by an international recruit from within their workforce.

Care Team Award
This Award will be presented to the team who are able to best demonstrate a shared
vision and agreed goals. The team should have a leader whose role is known and
accepted, and who takes personal responsibility for their tasks. Able to demonstrate a
commitment to dignity and privacy for clients plus respect for team members.

The Digital Social Care Hero Award
Acknowledges a care provider or individual within a care company who has implemented
the integration of digital technology bringing health and care closer together, making a
significant impact to the performance of the organisation.

Long-Term Service Award
Aims to recognise the long-term service of an employee who has made an outstanding
contribution to a care organisation (min. service period 10 years), who through their
working life have passionately made a huge difference to the organisation.

The Frontline Leaders Award
Recognises someone who has shown clear commitment to improving the delivery of care
and support within their team. A supervisor, senior care worker, team leader or registered
manager. A person who has shown leadership by reflecting on what could be done better
to support and brings about change, which highlights best practice.

Inspiration Award
An organisation or business (not a health or care agency) that inspired others with its
high standards of care and compassion, such as a community group or business, shop
or library, that goes out of its way to assist individuals who need extra support in their
daily lives.

Josie’s Award
Josie Smith was a remarkable force for good in the lives of people around her, and
especially in the lives of people who needed care and support; an unstoppable influence
for the better! We want to celebrate an individual of any kind who in some way is making
an exceptional difference to dignity in care.